Luxembourg, a small but charming country

Luxembourg is a small country in northwestern Europe that is part of the European Union. Its capital is, like the name of the country, Luxembourg. It borders France, Belgium and Germany. It is a constitutional monarchy that is divided into 3 districts: Dikrech, Gréiwemaacher and Lëtzebuerg, which at the same time are divided into 12 cantons (Dikrech, Esch-Uelzecht, Gréiwemaacher, Iechternach, Kapellen, Klierf, Lëtzebuergiden, Miersché, Réchime Veianen and Wolz).


Geography and climate

Luxembourg is the seventh smallest country in Europe , number 167 worldwide. The territory is divided into two very different parts in terms of relief: the north with a mountainous massif that reaches 500 meters and the south, with an extensive plain.

As for the climate, it is continental and humid. There is usually a lot of rainfall throughout the year. Winters are quite cool, while summers are moderately mild.

luxembourg palace


Luxembourg has a population of approximately 500,000 inhabitants . In the last 3 decades, the population has increased by more than 100,000 inhabitants. This is due to incessant immigration . The city has many Portuguese, French, Italian, Belgian, British and Dutch inhabitants, in that order of appearance.


Places of interest that you cannot miss

– Palace of the Grand Duke
– Notre Dame Cathedral
– National Museum of Art and History
– Petrusse Casemates
– Luxembourg Casino
– Church of San Juan Bautista
– Museum of Natural History
– Viaduct

photo country

Other data of interest

Largest city: Luxembourg
Official languages: Luxembourgish, French and German.
Currency: Euro
Internet domain: .lu
Telephone code: +352
Member of: EU, NATO, UN, OECD, OSCE
GDP per capita: It is the country with the highest GDP per capita in the world