Mount Rushmore

Mount Rushmore stands as a "sanctuary of democracy" in South Dakota. With it, the mandate of four presidents of the United States is commemorated, specifically, it typifies the first 150 years of the country’s history. It is a sculpture made of granite, by Gutzon Borglum. The history of Mount Rushmore dates back to 1923 .

The Mount Carving project was carried out with the intention of attracting tourists to the Black Hills region of South Dakota. Doane Robinson, a state historian, conceptualized the idea in 1923. The project received congressional approval and the carving began in 1927 . A famous sculptor named Gutzon Borglum, was called to be part of the project. Originally, he began carving the granite pillars of mountains called Needles, but Borglum said they were too thin and eventually ended up choosing Mount Rushmore for the job.

Another reason why he chose that area was because of its location. The mountain "faces" the southeast, which meant it would have sunlight for most of the day. It was also the highest peak in the region and was made of granite, which made it more resistant to erosion. Borglum used an ancient Greek method to start the work. The work began on October 4, 1927.

The election of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln was very rapid, since each one played a specific role in the preservation and expansion of their territory. Washington brought democracy to the United States, Thomas Jefferson devised the concept of having a "government of the people," Abraham Lincoln was instrumental in ending slavery in America, and Theodore Roosevelt led in trade reforms. The project was completed in 1941 and ended up costing $ 900,000.