The Palau Islands

The Palau Islands are a group of islands located in the Pacific Ocean . They belong to Oceania and have about 22,000 inhabitants . They are about 500 kilometers east of the Philippines and became independent from the United States in 1994.

The islands with the greatest weight are Babeldaob, Peleliu, Koror and Angaur . Almost a third of the population is concentrated in Koror. The Roca Islands (about 60 islands) are uninhabited and located to the west of the global set of islands.

The climate is logically tropical for most of the year with an average annual temperature that is usually around 28 ºC. There is 82% humidity and rains are common throughout the year, especially between July and October. It is almost impossible for a typhoon to occur.

The nation lives as it could not be otherwise thanks to tourism and fishing . Agriculture is limited to being subsistence for the inhabitants.