Know the Seven Wonders of the World (ancient)

We always tend to name the Seven Wonders of the World when we see something spectacular and we call it the "Eighth Wonder" but could you know exactly what the known Seven Wonders of the World are? When this listing was organized it was made during the Middle Ages, each building was believed to be one of the greatest examples of architecture in the world.

At the beginning of the original list, the legend says, there were other constructions but, with the passage of time, these were disappearing or, the list was simply altered. Currently, the current list we have is the Lighthouse of Alexandria, which is the substitute for the walls of Babylon. The list of the Seven Wonders of the World is:

– The Great Pyramid of Giza
– The Colossus of Rhodes
– The Lighthouse of Alexandria (also known as the Lighthouse)
– The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
– Statue of Zeus in Olympia
– The Halicarnaso Mausoleum
– Temple of Artemis (Diana) in Ephesus

The Great Pyramid of Giza is the only Wonder that is preserved today. The building was erected in the ancient city of Giza, which is now part of Cairo, Egypt. This structure was built by the Egyptian pharaoh Khofu (Cheops) as a final resting place.

The Colossus of Rhodes was a huge statue that was only 56 years old, before being destroyed. It was approximately 110 meters high and was installed near the entrance to the port of the island of Rhodes in Greece. The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus was built in 350 BC by the king to use as a tomb.